Brexiteer blasts ‘petty’ elites as EU exit hero Farage misses out on New Year’s honour

Brexiteer blasts ‘petty’ elites as EU exit hero Farage misses out on New Year’s honour

The pro-Brexit campaigner was not included in this year’s list despite a successful Brexit deal being announced at the end of the year. Supporters took to social media to hit out at the Government’s decision.

Isabel Oakeshott, journalist and Brexiteer, said the former UKIP leader “did more than anyone else on the planet to get us out of the EU”.

Ms Oakeshott said of Mr Farage’s exclusion from the Honour’s list: “What a nonsense this makes of the whole corrupt system.”

Patrick O’Flynn, Brexit spokesman for the Eurosceptic Social Democratic Party, agreed.

In any case, the 2021 Honours List saw a total of 1,123 candidates selected at BEM, MBE, and OBE level.

The majority of these were those who had “undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity,” the Cabinet Office said.

Some of those who were selected for honours include senior NHS staff including Lee David Brooks, Director of Operations for the Frontline Emergency Ambulance Response at the Welsh Ambulance Service.

In politics, Angela Eagle, Labour MP for Wallasey, received a damehood for parliamentary and political service.

Meanwhile Thomas Clarke and Geoffrey Cox of the Labour and Conservative parties respectively, were granted knighthoods.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said of the 2021 New Year Honours list: “In a year when so many have made sacrifices to protect our NHS and save people’s lives, the outstanding efforts of those receiving honours today are a welcome reminder of the strength of human spirit, and of what can be achieved through courage and compassion.

“The 2021 New Year Honours offer us an opportunity to salute their dedication and recognise many who have gone above and beyond in their contribution to our country.

“As we begin a new year and continue to come together to fight this virus, may their service and stories be an inspiration to us all.”

Published at Sun, 03 Jan 2021 06:51:00 +0000