Destiny 2 update today: Bungie Season 11 start time and early patch notes

Destiny 2 update today: Bungie Season 11 start time and early patch notes

Destiny 2 update 2.9.0 is launching today and will help kick start Season 11 and the Season of Arrivals. Bungie has yet to reveal what new stuff will be included as part of Season 11, although a few leaks have popped up. This includes the news that the Hive is likely to be the big bads during the Season of Arrivals, and that a new DLC will be released in a few months. While the development team behind the hit shooter has been keeping things under wraps until launch day, we do know when the new D2 update will be going live.

WHEN DOES THE NEW DESTINY 2 UPDATE DROP TODAY?

Bungie has confirmed that today’s Destiny 2 update time has been set for 10am PT, or 6pm GMT if you live in the UK.

Guardians should also know that Destiny 2 servers will be going offline for maintenance an hour before the new patch is available to download.

This downtime is only set to last around 60 minutes and should mean everyone can get back online to download the new update promptly.

During maintenance, Bungie will be hosting a live stream that will cover what is being planned for Destiny 2 Season 11.

The official Bungie reveal will be held at 9am PT, and is expected to include all the news fans will need for the new season, as well as whatever DLC plans the development team has planned.

A message from the Destiny 2 support team adds: “When Season of the Worthy ends at the weekly reset on June 9, 2020, there will be a number of items, activities, and Triumphs that will no longer be available to players… On Tuesday, June 9, Update 2.9.0 will be available to players.”

Below is a timeline of Destiny 2 maintenance for Update 2.9.0:

  • 9 AM PDT (1600 UTC): Destiny 2 service maintenance begins.
  • 9:45 AM PDT (1645 UTC): Destiny 2 is taken offline on all platforms.
  • 10 AM PDT (1700 UTC): Destiny 2 Update 2.9.0 begins rolling out across all platforms and regions. Players will be able to log back into Destiny 2 at 10:01 AM PDT.
  • 10:01 AM PDT (1701 UTC): Destiny 2 is back online on all platforms.
  • 2 PM PDT (2100 UTC): Destiny 2 service maintenance concludes.

Early patch notes for today’s Destiny 2 update can be found below and is separate to any big Season 11 reveals being planned for later.

DESTINY 2 PATCH NOTES

    • Legendary Armor Ornaments

      • As noted in a previous TWAB, we have shifted the Season 11 armour offering to be a gameplay reward for aspirational content.

      • The Season of Opulence “Intrepid” Ornament sets are returning to the storefront.

    • Season Pass

    • Bright Dust Purchases

    • Highly requested items from previous Seasons will once again be available.

    • We will once again communicate Season 11 Silver-only items at the beginning of the Season.

We’re expecting to have an update later in Season 11 on further changes to Bright Dust acquisition, so keep your eyes peeled.

Sandbox

    • The Powerful Friends armor mod will no longer stack. If multiple copies of this mod are equipped, the mods will provide no bonus stats.

      • Developer Commentary:

        • Only Solar Seasonal mods are intended to stack. No part of Arc mods are intended to have stacking functionality.

        • Powerful Friends granted +20 to Mobility, which players could leverage to get three stat columns to the max of 100 points. The mod is not priced sufficiently to justify its benefits, and increasing its cost would have adverse effects on its primary benefit usage.

        • Season 11 introduces a new Arc mod, granting a similar stat bonus to Strength and will not stack.

    • Enhanced Auto Rifle Loader, Enhance Fusion Rifle Loader, and Enhanced Bow Loader armor mods now have a chance to drop from pinnacle mod sources.

Raid Rewards

The following raid Exotics now have increased drop chances:

NOTE: Drop chance begins at 10% and increases to a max of 50% over 20 clears.

Trials Rewards

    • Additional Masterwork material rewards now drop at 3, 5, and 7 Trials wins.

    • Added a Trials weekly bounty which unlocks Trials Engrams on Saint-14.

    • Trials Tokens distribution has been rebalanced to focus on wins 3, 5, and 7 of a Trials Passage.

    • Trials Tokens are no longer awarded from match completions.

    • Passage of Wealth now doubles the bonus Trials Tokens earned at 3, 5 and 7 Trials wins.

Published at Tue, 09 Jun 2020 02:08:00 +0000