Holiday warning: Countries tighten measures on British tourists amid spike in UK cases

Holiday warning: Countries tighten measures on British tourists amid spike in UK cases

Britons have been keeping an eye on the UK’s travel corridor list this summer which is reviewed on a weekly basis. The list is a leading factor on where Britons can go abroad without facing 14 days in quarantine on their return. Countries on the list are exempt from quarantine, meaning that Britons can travel there and not face the stringent rules on their return.

Destinations not included on the list require Britons to quarantine for 14 days on their return to the UK or face a fine of £1,000.

Some countries on the travel corridor list require Britons to fulfil certain entry requirements on their entry into the country.

Some destinations require visitors to fill in a Passenger Locator Form while others require a negative coronavirus test.

And now it seems that countries are putting restrictions on Britons visiting their countries due to the UK’s sudden spike in coronavirus cases.

READ MORE: Luggage: Baggage handler says travellers should not pack some items

According to the Foreign Office, Commonwealth and Departmental Office, Barbados will be monitoring the UK on a daily basis for seven days from September 14.

The website reads: “From 14 September, a new protocol will come into force: those arriving from the UK will be monitored on a daily basis for seven days.

“A second COVID-19 PCR test may be taken seven days after arrival.

“If this second test proves negative, no further monitoring will be required.

“If the test is not taken, monitoring will continue for a further seven days.”

But Barbados is not the only country to have introduced quarantine measures for Britons arriving in their country.

Estonia, Norway, Lithuania and Latvia have all introduced similar rules.

However, Britons returning from those countries to the UK are not required to isolate for 14 days.

Those visiting Estonia have the option to take a test to reduce their self-isolation period.

Although, this option is not available for children.

Visitors heading to Norway from the UK will need to self-quarantine but for 10 days rather than 14 days.

British nationals travelling to Lithuania will need to self-isolate for 14 days and may need to preset proof of a negative COVID-19 test, carried out 72 hours before arrival.

Latvia is also requiring Britons to self-isolate for 14 days.

If the UK’s case rate continues to rise, then it could see more countries impose their own restrictions on British holidaymakers.

Published at Mon, 07 Sep 2020 11:01:04 +0000