Holidays 2020: FCO makes vital changes to travel advisory notice for Britons

Holidays 2020: FCO makes vital changes to travel advisory notice for Britons

After months of advising against all but essential travel, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has made a vital new change to its travel advisory notice. The news comes following Boris Johnson‘s announcement that Britons can now travel to 59 countries without the need for a mandatory quarantine period upon their return home.

Other holiday hotspots included in the list of “safe” destinations are Spain, Italy and Turkey.

Travellers jetting off in the coming months may have to follow additional protocols upon arrival in some destinations.

In Spain, Britons must meet three requirements.

The FCO explains: “You will be subject to the following three requirements: Provide the Spanish Ministry of Health with contact information and any history of exposure to COVID-19, 48 hours prior to travel.

Those with travel plans should check the regulations for their destination country before embarking.

However, there were some destinations that did not make the UK list.

The USA, Canada and China were all excluded from the air corridor bridges.

Although some regions were not included in the quarantine exemptions, the FCO has removed its travel advisory.

For visitors hoping to jet off to Canada, the FCO advises: “From 4 July, Canada is exempt from the FCO advice against all non-essential international travel. This is based on the current assessment of COVID-19 risks.

“The requirement to self-isolate on return to the UK from Canada remains in place.”

Canada, however, is not accepting British travellers unless they are a Canadian citizen, permanent resident or close family member of a resident.

The FCO maintains that Britons should not travel to China or the USA unless absolutely essential.

Published at Mon, 06 Jul 2020 10:31:00 +0000