Matsuyama got a free drop from the incident within a driver’s length of where the man had been standing in accordance with PGA Tour rules.
He signed the ball and left it in the hands of the crowd member to keep as a souvenir from the incident.
The Masters champion had been playing some excellent golf up to that point on Friday, making birdies on five consecutive holes prior to that errant tee shot.
However, that mistake proved to be a sign of things to come as he made a bogey on the tenth hole and finished his round with a triple-bogey on the 18th to finish at five under, seven shots back of current event leader Jon Rahm.
Published at Sat, 21 Aug 2021 06:47:30 +0000