US, Canada, Portugal & Sweden shunned from UK quarantine-free list

US, Canada, Portugal & Sweden shunned from UK quarantine-free list

Boris Johnson has unveiled the full list of quarantine-free countries which Britons can travel between. The list is made up of 59 countries which Britons will be allowed to visit without the need for a 134-day period of self-isolation upon their return home.

It adds: “Those allowed entry to the USA must be prepared to self-isolate for up to 14 days after arrival.”

Furthermore, the US continues to be the worst affected nation in the world by the pandemic, with figures rapidly increasing.

At the time of writing, the US has 2.74 million confirmed cases of coronavirus and has recorded over 130,000 deaths as a result.

Meanwhile, Canada is also limiting entry to Canadian citizens and permanent residents, or their immediate family.

The FCO explains: “Entry to Canada is limited, except for Canadian citizens and permanent residents or their immediate families, temporary foreign workers, and some international students.

“If you’re eligible to enter Canada, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days after arrival.”

Despite this, the FCO is not warning against travel to Canada.

It currently states: “From 4 July, Canada is exempt from the FCO advice against all non-essential international travel. This is based on the current assessment of COVID-19 risks.”

Canada has managed to flatten the curve of the virus since its peak in April.

The country has recorded 105,000 cases, with over 8,600 deaths.

Britons are also not allowed to enter Sweden, though the country chose not to enter into a period of lockdown resulting in some global criticism.

It has, so far, recorded. 70,639 cases of the virus and around 5,400 deaths

The FCO states: “The Danish Government has restricted access to individuals living in Sweden.

“Those normally living and working in Denmark will still be able to enter the country from Sweden.”

However, Portugal is currently allowing Britons to cross its borders, though restrictions remain in place with arrivals expected to enter into a quarantine period of 14-days.

The FCO explains: “You will be subject to health screening on arrival.

“Your temperature will be checked and if it is high or you show signs of being unwell, you will be referred to the health authorities.”

Britons would also have to quarantine once they return to the UK if they have visited Portugal.

It is unclear yet as to when restrictions to these countries will be lifted.

Amongst the holiday hotspots currently given the green-light for quarantine travel are Spain, Italy, France and Greece.

Published at Fri, 03 Jul 2020 14:43:00 +0000